Scholarship for Peace and Security 2020

Eligibility criteria

The Scholarship for Peace and Security is a joint initiative of the OSCE and UNODA. The scholarship offers a training programme providing foundational skills and knowledge. Topics include conflict prevention and resolution, arms control, confidence and security building measures, disarmament, non-proliferation and development-related issues. All topics are examined in the context of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe.

The programme consists of two components:
  • Online foundation course lasting 8 weeks
  • In-depth, in-person, course lasting five days in Vienna (Austria)

A total of 100 scholarships are available to facilitate participation of young professional women and men from OSCE participating States and Partners for Co-operation. The participation in the in-person training is reserved for women. All are encouraged to apply for the online course scholarship.

Full scholarshipPartial scholarshipOnline course scholarship
Type of Scholarship
  • Registration fee for the 8 weeks online
  • Registration for 5 days in-person training course in Vienna, Austria
  • Travel costs to Vienna in economy class fare
  • Accommodation and subsistence allowance for 1 week.
  • Registration fee for the 8 weeks online
  • Registration for 5 days in-person training course in Vienna, Austria
  • Registration fee for the 8 weeks online
Number of Scholarships available 15 35 50
Gender Female Female Female / Male
Age 22-32 at the time of application
Nationals of OSCE participating States and Partners for Co-operation are eligible Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Republic of Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uzbekistan
Qualifications A university degree or equivalent qualifications (which could for example be constituted of a degree obtained with minimum 2 years of higher education, combined with relevant professional experience).
Language The training courses will be conducted in English only. All applicants are required to be fluent in English.

Application deadline

Sunday 9 February 2020, 23:59 (CET)
Incomplete applications and applications received after the deadline will not be considered.